I thought you were my friend. 

I thought you were my friend. 

But seems I was mistaken on the nature of friendship. 

Seems that it wasn’t enough to stay loyal to you, take your side when you lost ‘the boy’ to your rival in school. 

Seems it wasn’t enough to like the music you liked, to devote myself to promoting your favourite band, to encourage you to audition for it. I was so proud when you did your first gig. 

Seems it wasn’t enough to ‘get off with’ with your abusive boyfriend because you wanted to win some kind of bet with him. I never really understood what that was about, but went along with what you wanted. You seemed dissapointed when I told you he wasn’t that great a kisser. But I would never lie to you.

Seems it wasn’t enough to listen to you bitch about my sister and not defend her. To take your side against my own flesh and blood, at least for a while. (Sorry sis!)

Seems it wasn’t enough to tell you first about my engagement, my first pregnancy, about everything. To tell you things I never told anyone else. To let you read my diary. 

Seems it wasn’t enough to leave you my engagement ring in my will. At the time, it was the only thing of value I owned. I would have given you my last penny. 

Seems it wasn’t enough to ask you to be my witness, to sign my marraige certificate. I did not have any bridesmaids, so that was the biggest honour I could think of. Again, I chose you over my sisters. 

Seems it wasn’t enough that I asked you to be Godmother to my daughter. She’s going to wonder why I chose you. But of course I chose you. 

Seems it wasn’t enough that I would have died for you. 

Because I thought you were my friend. And I thought these were things you did for your friends. 

But it seems I was wrong. 

Leave a Reply

