The Resistance 

A dark cloud has descended on the world. 

A dark cloud of fascism and hatred. 

And I can feel it growing, taking over, suffocating all in its path. 

And I look into the faces of my beautiful, innocent, perfect children and my heart fills with a despair greater than any I ever imagined were possible. 

And I look for something I can hold onto, something that gives even a glimmer of hope. 

A hashtag. #TheResistance

And it reminds me of the ‘good guys’ from the movies. From Terminator, The Matrix, Star Wars, Mad Max, The Hunger Games. The list goes on and on. 

And the echoes too of those who went underground and fought the fascists we have had before. 

Although most of us cannot take up arms, cannot physically fight any battles, we can take part in our own ways. Whether from behind a screen, cheering folks on, marching with placards, donating what we can, or reaching out to our friends and family who are suffering. 

And turning our backs on those who vote in hate. 

Autistic people often have hyper-empathy. In these dark times, it can be too much, overwhelming. So resistance can also mean just surviving. Not giving in to despair. 

And like all those movies, the good guys win in the end,right? 

Although never without a huge number of casualties. I’ve no doubt that many many good people will die in this battle too. 

And I don’t want their deaths to be in vain. I have to believe that this is not the end. 

And that The Resistance will prevail. I have to believe. 
[image of a red background with the words “THE RESISTANCE” in black.]

2 thoughts on “The Resistance 

Leave a Reply

