Book Review: Unf*ck Your Habitat by Rachel Hoffman

I wrote a little about the Unf*ck Your Habitat phone app, in this blog post. So, I was understandably excited when I discovered there was also a book with the same title. One minute later, and I had it on my kindle! It’s a short book, and relatively inexpensive. And for those familiar with the UfYH concepts, website etc, it doesn’t add too much in the way of new ideas etc. What it does do, is explain everything very very well. It is well laid out, and the chapters are easy to read. 

The best part of the book, though, is it’s the first time I’ve read a ‘housework’ themed book that doesn’t just mention disability in passing, but devotes a lot of space to the subject. It emphasises all the issues disabled people can have with housework. And it focuses on mental illnesses, such as depression and anxiety too and not just physical disabilities. The language throughout is respectful, unless you have a problem with swear words! And emphasises that these issues are not our fault, and certainly not ‘laziness’. It also suggests ways we can adapt the UfYH system so that it suits our particular circumstances. It also has a section dedicated to the unique challenges faced by the children of hoarders. Again, I have not seen this in other books. There’s a good list of links to resources in the back of the book too. 

So, overall, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who struggles with housework. I am so glad I discovered it’s existence. Reading it has given me the motivation I needed to get back into a regular routine of housework. And I’m seeing the benefits already! 
[image of the front cover of the book. There is a rich blue background, and an image of a wooden clothes hanger hanging on a round metallic hook. The author’s name is written above this, in white. Below the hanger are the words, in beige, “Unf*ck Your Habitat.” And below that, in white, the words “you’re better than your mess”]

Leave a Reply

