I wish I’d known

I wish I’d known I was autistic. That there was a reason I never fit in. 

I wish I’d known I was bisexual. That I didn’t need to have had a girlfriend, ever, to be so. 

I wish I’d known I was aromantic. That falling in love wasn’t a prerequisite for being human. 

I wish I’d known I was genderfluid. That I could sometimes be a girl and sometimes not. 

I wish I’d known I was NB. That I could be something other than a girl or a boy. 

I wish I’d known that I could be polygamous. That monogamy wasn’t the only option. 

I wish I’d known I had a chronic illness. That there was a reason I was so tired. 

I wish I’d known I wasn’t lazy. That laziness is a concept foisted on us by others. 

I wish I’d known these things and more. But, at least I know now. 

[image of a lot of multicoloured balloons, each tied with string to paper containing a wish written on it. The balloons are floating off into a deep blue sky.]

4 thoughts on “I wish I’d known

  1. Me, too. And I wish other people had listened when I tried to explain that I couldn’t fit in, couldn’t help certain things, that no amount of trying was going to make me “normal,” that just because they couldn’t see something didn’t mean it wasn’t there. Here’s to healing the “wish I’d knowns.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

