Book Review: Recover from Eating Disorders – Homeodynamic Recovery Method

Before I begin, I need to declare that I may have a bias in reviewing this book. That is because I consider Gwyneth Olwyn a friend and have followed the Homeodynamic Recovery Method in my own efforts at fixing my eating issues. I will try to be as objective as I can in writing this review. 

I have read an awful lot of books about eating disorders. I have written about the main dangers of writing about eating disorders here. I am glad to say that this book is one of the few that is written with care and forethought about how it may effect those with eating disorders. 

Unlike a lot of books about eating disorders, the Homeodynamic Recovery Method is aimed primarily at adult sufferers and not children. It is rare to find advice that isn’t designed for parents of children or teenagers with eating disorders. Like a lot of chronic conditions, eating disorders don’t magically cease to exist once someone becomes an adult. 

The Homeodynamic Recovery Method is grounded in science. And if it seems revolutionary, that is merely because most other treatment programs for eating disorders have not caught up with the science. There are extensive references at the end of every chapter. My only quibble is that, similar to Gwyneth’s blog posts, a lot of the language can be hard to understand, especially for a starved brain. But I do recommend reading over it more than once. It will sink in and make sense eventually. 

Each chapter starts with a quote from someone with an eating disorder who has used the Homeodynamic Recovery Method. These provide invaluable insight into what it entails. And show that it’s not all ‘rainbows and unicorns’ but in fact it’s a really hard and arduous journey to remission. But they also show the positive outcomes such a journey can result in. 

I would definitely recommend this book for anyone with an eating disorder, whether they are considering recovery or not. I would recommend it to friends, family and the medical profession. I would recommend it to anyone with a disordered relationship with food, whether they think they have an eating disorder or not. And to anyone looking for science to counter fat-misia in general. 

And I would like to end this review with a Thank You to Gwyneth Olwyn for all the hard work she put into writing this book, into her website The ED institute and into moderating and maintaining the accompanying forums. The have literally saved my life and for that I’ll be eternally grateful. 

Leave a Reply

